Seasons In the Kelp Forest

Jenny Feely

Seasons In the Kelp Forest

Jenny Feely






1 Jan 2019




Flying Start to Literacy

$9.95 AUD

$11.95 NZD

Add To Cart


About this text:

Title:Seasons In the Kelp Forest
Synopsis:  Seasons in the Kelp Forest exploreshow kelp grows in the sea during the four seasons and the different animals that live in and around the kelp.
Year level(s): 1  2  3
Reading level: 28
Text type: Explanation
Curriculum link: Science: Biological sciences
Content vocabulary:
abundant bladders blades canopy coastal encrusted energy fertilises gas-filled holdfasts kelp nutrient-rich rough seaweed spores stipe
High frequency words:
Key concepts: There are seasons under the sea just as there are on land. Kelp is a seaweed that grows from tiny spores to form a kelp forest. Lots of different animals live in kelp forests. Kelp forests go through many changes as the seasons change.
Reading strategies: Using text features to locate information in the text
Phonics: Identifying ough as in rough
Paired text: Thunder Cave
Supporting material: Lesson Plan - Seasons In the Kelp Forest / Thunder Cave
Series: Flying Start to Literacy
Alternative purchasing options: This title is available in one of several value packs. Speak to your Oxford Education consultant today to learn more
Digital sample pages: can be viewed at

Series information:

Flying Start to Literacy is an award-winning comprehensive literacy program. It reflects best practice in literacy instruction and supports the systematic development of students’ reading strategies and skills.

Each Student Book is part of connected pair, a narrative book and an informative book, both presenting the same key concepts and vocabulary. These titles have been trialled with a range of readers, including English language learners.

Each pair of Student Books is supported by a Lesson Plan. These visually appealing resources are durable and easy-to-use.  They integrate oral language, vocabulary development, fluency and comprehension, writing and phonics.

Reading strategies, phonics and phonemic awareness and repetition of high-frequency words are all developed through this series, enhancing the reader’s fluency and comprehension. With an array of engaging titles to choose from, readers will laugh, explore and share in the adventure whilst learning and expanding their vocabulary.

Flying Start to Literacy resources are suitable for use as part of an early intervention program and provide effective support for English language learners.

This series is supported by a wealth of teacher resources, which can be obtained by visiting

Teacher Resources

Flying Start to Literacy is supported by an array of free teacher resources, including:

  • scope and sequence documents
  • phonics and phonemic overviews for each reading stage
  • reading and writing across the curriculum overviews of text types, text features, curriculum links, key concepts, and content vocabulary for the books at each of the reading stages
  • records of reading behaviour are provided for books at each stage
  • ongoing assessment checklist forms
  • getting started tips and guidance
  • title-level correlations to the Australian Curriculum
  • information about the research that underpins the series
  • percentage of decodable words tables for Levels 1—10.

Visit to access these free resources.