Project X

Built to motivate 21st century children.

The Project X collection covers all areas of reading including phonics, intervention, guided and independent reading. Exciting 3D characters, absorbing adventure stories and stunning illustrations are featured throughout the collection to engage even the most reluctant readers.

The series:

  • addresses key issues across the school including guided reading, phonics, comprehension, writing and intervention
  • includes thematic clusters of fiction and non-fiction for guided reading
  • includes amazing 3D illustrated character adventures that give all children stories to share and talk about
  • has been developed with leading experts in phonics comprehension and reading intervention.

The Project X Collection

Fully decodable books

Project X Phonics offers fully decodable books for step-by-step word-reading progression. Project X Phonics provides phonics practice for children in Foundation to Year 1. It is based around exciting adventures, non-fiction and activity cards that are perfect for motivating boys and girls in groups or one-to-one.


  • sequential introduction to letter and sounds, with step-by-step progression
  • activities and teaching notes embedded in the books to save preparation time
  • fiction and non-fiction books
  • songs, rhymes,games and exciting stories.

Years 2–4 intervention

Project X Code is a proven reading intervention program for children in Years 2–4 who are a year or more behind in their word reading. It combines systematic, synthetic phonics with vocabulary and comprehension development in a character adventure series that is perfect for engaging struggling readers.


  • a unique two-text approach that builds children’s confidence (Text 1: 100% decodable) and keeps them motivated (Text 2: at least 80% decodable)
  • 14 entry and exit points mean that children can start and finish the intervention at a point that is right for them
  • supported by comprehension lesson plans, easy-to-use assessment and progress tracking for maximum impact on reading.

Guided reading

Project X Origins provides everything you need to deliver effective guided reading sessions for Foundation–Year 6. The series is grouped into thematic clusters which include character and variety fiction and non-fiction books helping children to make links between text type and content. The series also includes 28 Graphic Texts for Years 4–5 created with the help of the UK’s first comics Laureate, Dave Gibbons.


  • fiction and non-fiction books grouped into thematic clusters at each level, linked by theme
  • guided reading notes include activities to help children develop inference, critical thinking, vocabulary and other higher-order comprehension skills
  • graphic texts offer a new format to develop deeper comprehension skills
  • embedded assessment helps you accurately assess students’ reading, identify next steps and monitor progress.

Independent reading

Alien Adventures is an award-winning independent reading series for Foundation–Year 6. This fully decodable and finely levelled series is based around an exciting space adventure to engage children and ignite a love of reading.


  • 100% decodable - small steps of progression to ensure independent reading from day one
  • 100% fun - a new alien friend and an exciting space mission that will draw children in and make them want to read on.

10-week intervention program

Project X Comprehension Express is a whole-class teaching program that is specifically built to help students in Years 3–6 master comprehension. It is a 10-week intervention strategy that benefits students at different reading levels in the same class.


  • 10 accessible and transparent comprehension strategies that recent research recommends to raise reading standards
  • a comprehensive pick-up-and-go plan saves teachers time and can fit alongside usual classroom practice
  • the 10-week plan in each year level is highly structured and focused, accelerating the skills of the whole class
  • diagnostic guidance ensures that gaps in understanding can be identified and closed before moving on.

Matched to Letters and Sounds

Project X Hero Academy is a new series designed to motivate young readers and turn them into reading superheroes.Hero Academy is composed of 78 fiction books that are fully decodable and matched to the Letters and Sounds phonics sequence. The fine phonic progression ensures that all children can access the series as they embed their whole-class phonic teaching.


  • 78 fully decodable and exciting student books designed to motivate all students
  • 2 Companion texts that accompany the series that provide perfect stimulus for writing and help prompt class discussion
  • fully decodable with a fine phonic progression in line with the Letters and Sounds phonics sequence
  • free teaching resources on Oxford Owl including guided reading notes for every student book.

Contact an Oxford Education Consultant.
To find out more about the Project X series complete the form below and an Oxford Education Consultant will be in touch shortly.